Thrive Energy Cookbook – Edamame Hummus and A.L.T. Avocado Lettuce Tomato Sandwich

rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus, A.L.T. sandwichrossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazierrossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus, A.L.T. sandwich          rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummusThe A.L.T. Avocado Lettuce Tomato (page 83) sandwich is officially the first recipe I spontaneously picked out from Thrive Energy Cookbook and didn’t realize that there’s more recipes to make this dish. Since I don’t have garlic aioli, I substitute with grapeseed vegenaise instead and made edamame hummus (page 69). Since this is was a last minute decision, the only catch was there’s few ingredients I don’t have in my pantry. Another ingredients substitute to make this edamame hummus possible.rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus, mise en placeI only substitute 2 ingredients. Navy beans replaced chickpeas and truffle olive oil replaced avocado oil. You’ll notice the frozen edamame has a bit of ice. According to the recipe book, need to thaw out the edamame. If I were to thaw this, it will become soggy and mushy. So, I figured if I cut down the water instead. Well, it worked. I like my hummus texture more thick and semi-smooth. I’m one of those people who like a bit of texture in their dips. Anything too smooth reminds me of baby food. rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus,This hummus recipe calls for 5 teaspoons of salt. What I did is I used teaspoon of salt with other ingredients and blend in the food processor. Then, I gave a taste and add another teaspoon of salt and 2 tablespoon of water and blend. Gave another taste, the hummus’ texture is what I like, however need another teaspoon of salt. After blending, the hummus taste perfect to my personal taste. So, 3 teaspoon of salt was good enough for me and made a note in the recipe book so I won’t forget.

Even though this recipe was simple, I can sure make some delicious mess at the kitchen. Now time for the A.L.T. sandwich. This A.L.T. recipe calls for mixed greens and I only got spinach. Thank goodness I got some kind of greens in the fridge.

Oh, the urban living. Takes me 10 minutes of speed walking to the local market store. But, today, I feel like I need the challenge to use my creative substitution for this edamame hummus. And besides, I’ll get distracted and ended up eating out and I don’t really want to do that.rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus, A.L.T. sandwichThe sprouted bread brand I used was Silver Hills. All I can say is this sandwich is jammed packed with good nutrients. I was having trouble finishing my first half and took a 20 minute break before finishing the rest of this lovely A.L.T. Sandwich. rossana bannana vegan vegana celebrity model chef health fitness plant-based certificate t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, t. colin campbell center for Nutrition Studies, ROUXBE GRADUATE, vegan beauty, veganafood, vegana food, vegan recipes, vegan magazines, thrive energy cookbook, brendan brazier, edamame hummus, A.L.T. sandwichWas this worth the last minute effort, despite of missing few ingredients? Yes, it was worth it, because not only I’m full, I also got lots of edamame hummus left.


EDAMAME HUMMUS from Thrive Energy Cookbook page 69
“Rich in protein and phytochemicals, this hummus is an ideal dip for vegetables. It’s also delicious as a burger topping to boost nutritional value.
“gluten-free” “protein-rich”
prep time: 6 minutes
special equipment: food processor
Makes 4 cups

2 cups shelled edamame, thawed if frozen
1 cup cooked or rinsed canned chickpeas
1/2 avocado, peeled and chopped
3 small cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 tbsp avocado oil 5 tsp sea salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
1/2 cup water

In a food processor, combine all the ingredients. Pulse to mix, then process until creamy smooth but thick enough to dip. Add a little water if it is too thick.

*Keeps in a sealed container, refrigerated, for up to 1 week.


Leave a comment